Day 432: Prepping for Baby

It’s been over 14 months of sobriety and I’m preparing for Mommyhood! I’m 36 weeks pregnant and oh so ready to meet my daughter. This has been one of the many blessing of living a life without alcohol. I’m in an amazing relationship to a man I plan to spend forever with. We are beyond excited for our new family. Below, I post a letter I wrote to my daughter while she still lives in my belly for only a few more weeks. 💗

Dear Madelyn,

I’m writing this letter while you are still in my belly growing big and strong. It’s been 9 months since I’ve carried you and I feel your countless kicks and movement every day. You are my first child and God’s gift to me.

Words can’t express how much love I have for you already. I haven’t met you in person yet but I feel the bond between us is so strong and will always remain unbreakable. The bond between a Mother and daughter is so special and I feel that with you. I want you to know I will always be there for you not only as your Mother but your best friend and confidant.

I hope you grow up to be loving, kind, strong, courageous, and passionate. I promise to give you everything I can to ensure you’re happy and healthy. I will love you unconditionally and promise to always support you. I hope you get to know God one day as He is the one who gave you to me.

In the years to come, I will teach you so much, but you have already taught me infinite amounts. You have taught me what it is to be a Mother. You have taught me to be selfless. You have taught me pure love. You have taught me that it is possible to have a piece of my heart outside of my body.

As you grow and encounter the world, you will see things clearly. My sincerest hope is that you will come to know yourself truly, have compassion for those around you, and understand that all of us are the same. I pray you live a full and wonderful life full of love and richness in your heart.

I love you Madelyn and can’t wait to meet you soon.

Love,

Mommy

Leave a comment